A ReqQuiReD REPORT ON THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE WORKING FAMILIES
STUDENT FEE TRANSPARENCY AND ACCOUNTABILITY ACT

Introduction

Chapter 620, Statutes of 2012 (AB 970, Fong), also known as the Working Families
Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act, requires the University of California
(UC) and California State University (CSU) to comply with prescribed public notice and
student consultation procedures before adopting an increase in mandatory systemwide
fees. The legislation also requires the segments to develop a list of factors to consider
when recommending a fee increase. In addition, Chapter 620 requires UC and CSU to
provide the Legislature with annual reports that have detailed information on fees, aid,
and total costs of attendance. Beginning this year, the legislation requires our office to
report on the segments” implementation of these policies.

In this report, we first provide background on fee policies in the state and then
describe the major Chapter 620 requirements. We next review the segments’ responses to
the requirements in Chapter 620, provide our assessment of their compliance, and offer a
few related recommendations for the Legislature’s consideration.

Background

State Had Fee Policy From 1985 to 1995. Following steep university fee increases
from 1981 to 1984, the Legislature adopted Chapter 1523, Statutes of 1985 (SB 195, Maddy),
known as the Maddy-Dills Act. The act required the universities to establish long-term
tee policies and formal consultation practices and to fix fees at least ten months before
the start of the fall term. Fee increases had to be gradual, moderate, and predictable and
could not exceed 10 percent over the prior year. Fees were to be indexed to changes in
state support. The Governor and Legislature were to consider fee levels in determining
appropriations, using state funds to cover the portion of cost increases not covered by
fees. Additionally, the state was to provide sufficient student financial aid to offset fee
increases for students with financial need. The policy, initially set to sunset in 1990, was
reaffirmed by a joint legislative master plan review committee in 1989 and extended for
tive additional years through Chapter 572, Statutes of 1990 (SB 1645, Dills).

Segments Adhered to Policy While State Funding Increased. All university fee
increases conformed to the provisions of the Maddy-Dills Act from 1985 to 1990. Both
state General Fund appropriations and student fees increased more than 35 percent over
this period, an average of more than 6 percent annually (see Figure 1 on next page). This
is notable because fees had remained relatively flat during previous periods of such large
General Fund increases.

Policy Set Aside in Recession, Allowed to Sunset. In 1991 and 1992, severe budget
crises led the Legislature to suspend many of the act’s requirements. (To comply with the
policy linking fee increases to General Fund changes, the universities would have had
to reduce fees while their state support was declining.) To partially offset General Fund
reductions, fees increased close to 70 percent at both UC and CSU over this two-year
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Figure 1
UC and CSU Fee Increases
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period. The Legislature restored some of the requirements in 1993 and 1994 but allowed
the statute to sunset in 1996.

Fees Stabilized After Recession but Spiked Again During Next Downturn. As
shown in Figure 1, university fees remained flat or declined in each year from 1995
through 2001 (while General Fund support increased an average of more than 8 percent
annually over the period). Fees then increased in most years from 2002 to 2011 as
General Fund support declined over the period. In some of these years, fees increased by
as much as 40 percent. Since 1995-96, fees at UC and CSU have increased at an average
annual rate of about 7 percent. Adjusted for inflation, fees increased at UC and CSU at an

average annual rate of about 3 percent.

Chapter 620 Requirements

Specifies Process and Timeline for Fee Increases. Chapter 620 specifies numerous
procedural steps, including consultation with student groups, public meetings to
consider fee increases, a comment period following the public meeting, a second
public meeting to adopt any increase following the notice period, and a waiting period
before implementing an approved increase. Figure 2 (next page) provides a timeline
for this process. The February 1 start date in this illustration represents the latest date
a university could begin consultation to adopt an increase for a school year beginning
in mid-August. Altogether, the minimum interval between first contacting student
associations and implementing a fee increase is more than six months.

Specifies Factors Universities Must Consider Before Raising Fees but Does Not

Set Specific Limits. Chapter 620 requires the universities to develop a list of factors they
will take into account when considering a fee increase. The list, to have been adopted by
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the respective governing boards by April 2, 2013, must include the level of state support,
the total cost of attendance, the impact of a fee increase on various categories of students
(including historically underrepresented students and low-income students), and the
university’s efforts to mitigate adverse impacts. The statute does not set a limit on fee
increases adopted through the specified processes.

Figure 2
Chapter 620 Procedural Requirements for Raising Fees

Sample Dates  Required Actions

February 1 Provide specifed information to statewide student association representatives.?

5-day interval

February 6 Hold consultation meeting with student representatives.

30-day interval

Provide public notice of proposed fee increase and board meeting to consider it.

10-day interval

Hold board meeting to consider fee increase.

45-day interval | Comment period

May 2 Provide public notice of board meeting to adopt increase.

10-day interval

May 12 Hold board meeting to adopt fee increase.

90-day interval | Waiting period

Implement increase for new academic year.

@ The universities must provide student representatives with a justification for an increase and describe (1) the
purposes for which new revenues will be used, (2) efforts to mitigate impacts on needy students, and (3) potential
impacts on work and loan burden and institutional aid.

Requires Annual Reports From Universities and Legislative Analyst’s Office
(LAO). The statute requires the universities to report annually by February 1 detailed
information regarding (1) expenditure of revenues derived from student fees and (2) uses
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of institutional financial aid. In addition, the segments must report the systemwide
average total cost of attendance. The statute also requires the LAO to review institutional
compliance with Chapter 620 and report to the Legislature by March 1 annually. This
report is to include an assessment of the information provided by the universities as
well as findings and recommendations regarding the universities’ implementation of
Chapter 620.

Assessment and Recommendations

Policies at Both UC and CSU Are Consistent With Chapter 620. Because of its
constitutional autonomy, many statutes apply to UC only to the extent the Regents
choose to adhere to them (typically adopting a resolution). The Regents maintain that
Chapter 620 is subject to this requirement, and they have not adopted its provisions by
resolution. Nevertheless, the university’s existing policies and practices comply with the
intent of Chapter 620. The Regents already had in place a student fee policy specifying
factors to consider in fee deliberations and requiring appropriate consultation with faculty
and students. A fee increase adopted through the normal university budget development
process, in which the budget is discussed in September and adopted in November, meets
the notice requirements in Chapter 620. The CSU has more explicitly complied with
the Chapter 620 requirements. At its March 2013 meeting, the CSU Trustees adopted a
resolution specifying factors to consider when proposing a fee increase. (Both the UC
student fee policy and the CSU resolution are included in the Appendix.)

Fee Policies Consider Many of Same Factors, a Few Different Ones. Figure 3 (next
page) provides a comparison of the factors each university will take into account before
raising fee levels. As evident from the figure, overlap exists among the factors identified
by each university. For example, both comply with Chapter 620 requirements to consider
the level of state support and total cost of attendance. The CSU resolution, however,
contains some factors not included in UC’s policy. For example, CSU will consider the
share of baccalaureate students graduating with student loans and the average loan
amount for these students.

Both Universities Complied With Reporting Provisions. Additionally, both
segments complied with reporting requirements by (1) providing expenditure data
(which the Department of Finance included in the Governor’s January budget proposal),
(2) publishing expenditure information in their own support budget documents, and
(3) submitting their regular institutional financial aid reports in February 2014. The
financial aid reports show a small decline in average family income and corresponding
increases in financial need among institutional aid recipients from 2011-12 to 2012-13,
primarily due to (1) an increase in non-fee costs of attendance and (2) implementation of
the California Dream Act, which authorizes the universities to provide institutional aid
for certain nonresident students and undocumented immigrants.

Chapter 620 Timeline for Adopting Tuition Increases Could Be Difficult to Follow
Some Years. The timeline from initial consultation to implementation of a fee increase—a
minimum of 190 days—likely will be problematic some years. The statute allows a
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Figure 3
Factors to Consider When Proposing Increases in Mandatory Systemwide Fees

Factors uc CSuU

Chapter 620 Requirements

Level of state support.
Total cost of attendance (COA). X

Impact on various categories of students, including underrepresented and low- to middle- —a
income students.

Efforts to mitigate adverse impacts. XP X

Other Factors Considered

Resources necessary to maintain Master Plan commitment to access and academic quality. X X
Availability of need-based financial aid from various sources. X
COA at comparable institutions. X X
Net COA (after grants and scholarships) at university and comparable institutions. X
Inflation and other budgetary cost increases, creation of new programs or services, and overall X —
mission and budget priorities of the university.

Resources necessary to assure adequate courses and support services and promote student — X
success and timely graduation.

Extent to which fee rates and institutional aid practices are maximizing availability of federal — X
financial aid, including tax credits, for students and families.

Percentage of baccalaureate students who graduate with education loan debt, average amount — X
of debt, and comparison with state and national averages.

Whether fee structure maintains adequate differentials between undergraduate and graduate/ — X
postbaccalaureate fees.

If state provides stable and predictable increases in funding, consideration will be given to fee — X

increases that are moderate, gradual, predictable, and with ample notice to students.
An “X” indicates segment considers same or very similar factor.

& The university’s policy considers the needs and priorities of undergraduate, graduate, and professional students, but does not specifically address
the impact on underrepresented or low- and moderate-income students.
b The university’s policy addresses this requirement by specifying that fee increases should have return-to-aid components.

somewhat shorter timeline only in the event the Governor proposes or the Legislature
enacts General Fund reductions (including midyear cuts) for the universities. If instead
the Governor proposes or the Legislature adopts level funding or augmentations
insufficient to cover normal cost increases at the campuses, the universities might be
unable to adjust their fee plans accordingly for the upcoming academic year.

Legislative Intent Regarding Financial Aid Set-Aside Conflicts With Earlier
Provision. Chapter 620 urges the Regents and Trustees to maintain their commitment
to student financial aid by setting aside at least 33 percent of revenues from a tuition
increase to augment institutional aid programs. In contrast, an earlier provision
(Education Code Section 66021) states the Legislature’s intent to fund increased student
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aid from sources other than student fees. The Legislature may wish to address this
conflict among statutes and clarify how it intends to fund financial aid.

Annual Reports From LAO May Not Be Necessary. We believe annual reporting
on the segments’ compliance with Chapter 620 seems unnecessary for future years
when there are no fee increases or when the segments fully comply with the statute and
our review of their submissions presents no noteworthy findings. Instead of requiring
annual assessments from our office, the Legislature could amend the statute to require
LAO annually to review the institutions” fee increases and financial aid reports and,
as needed, bring to the Legislature’s attention any concerns during the annual budget
process.
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APPENDIX

Regents of the University of California
The University of California Student Tuition and Fee Policy

Approved January 21, 1994, Amended May 20, 2004, September 22, 2005, March 25, 2010,
May 20, 2010, and November 18, 2010

A Student Tuition and Fee Policy affecting Tuition and the Student Services Fee is established
with the following provisions.

A. Tuition

Tuition, (formerly referred to as the Educational Fee) is a University-wide mandatory
charge assessed against each resident and nonresident registered student. Tuition is
assessed uniformly across all campuses of the University.

In addition to funding programs and services supported by Tuition (such as student
financial aid and related programs, admissions, registration, administration, libraries,
and operation and maintenance of plant), income generated by Tuition may be used for
general support of the University’s operating budget. Revenue from Tuition may be used
to fund all costs related to instruction, including faculty salaries.

In recommending to the Board the annual tuition level, the President shall take
into consideration the following factors:

1. The resources necessary to maintain access under the Master Plan, to sustain
academic quality, and to achieve the University’s overall mission;

2. The full cost of attending the University, including the cost of housing, food,
healthcare, books and supplies, transportation, and other academic and personal
expenses;

3. The amount of support available from various sources to assist needy students in
funding the full cost of their education;

4. Overall State General Fund support for the University; and
The full cost of attendance at comparable public institutions.

6. The President annually shall solicit faculty and student views on the level of
Tuition through the appropriate consultation processes.

B. The Student Services Fee

The University of California is committed to providing a supportive and enriched
learning environment for all undergraduate, graduate and professional students. To
facilitate this intent, all registered resident and nonresident students are assessed the
Student Services Fee which is a University-wide mandatory charge.

Income generated by the Student Services Fee (formerly referred to as the University
Registration Fee) shall be used to support services and programs that directly benefit
students and that are complementary to, but not a part of, the core instructional
program. These services and programs include, but are not limited to, operating and
capital expenses for services related to the physical and psychological health and
well-being of students; social, recreational, and cultural activities and programs; services
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APPENDIX

related to campus life and campus community; technology expenses directly related to
the services; and career support. These services and programs create a supportive and
enriched learning environment for University of California undergraduate, graduate and
professional students.

Increases in the Student Services Fee should have a return-to-aid component that is
the same percentage as the return-to-aid component of increases in Tuition.

Annually the President shall review the Student Services Fee and recommend to the
Board the appropriate fee level after considering a variety of factors, including but not
limited to: needs and priorities of undergraduate, graduate and professional students;
inflation and other budgetary cost increases; creation of new programs or services; and
overall budget priorities of the University.

At each campus, the Chancellor or his/her designee annually shall solicit and actively
consider student recommendations, with the intent of honoring as much as possible
student recommendations on the following: the use of Student Services Fee revenue;
and the annual Student Services Fee to be set by the Regents. Student recommendations
shall be provided by each campus’ Student Fee Advisory Committee recognized by the
systemwide Council on Student Fees.

Each campus will maintain a website that provides details on how the Student
Services Fee has been allocated relative to the recommendation of the Student Fee
Advisory Committee.

Each campus should refer to administrative guidelines issued by the President that
provide additional guidance around the use of Student Services Fee revenue, Student Fee
Advisory Committees, Student Services Fee reports, and student fee websites.

C. Notification to Students

To assist students and their parents in planning for future educational expenses, the
President shall report annually to the Board the proposed fee levels for Tuition and the
Student Services Fee for the next academic year.

*Nothing in this policy constitutes a contract, an offer of a contract, or a promise that
any tuition or fees ultimately authorized by The Regents will be limited by any term
or provision of this policy. The Regents expressly reserve the right and option, in its
absolute discretion, to establish tuition or fees at any level it deems appropriate based on
a full consideration of the circumstances, and nothing in this policy shall be a basis for
any party to rely on tuition or fees of a specified level or based on a specified formula.

LEGISLATIVE ANALYST’'S OFFICE A-2



APPENDIX

Trustees of the California State University
List of Factors to Consider Before Adopting Fee Increases

Resolution Adopted March 20, 2013, as Required by Chapter 620

e The legislature in 2010 reaffirmed “access, affordability and high quality”
as “...the essential tenets of the master plan...” [Education Code Section
66002 (d)] Adjustments to mandatory systemwide fees at the CSU should
always be considered with these three master plan goals in mind.

e The state has a historic commitment to fund the master plan. State
law affirms this commitment specifically with regard “...to provide an
appropriate place in California public higher education for every student
who is willing and able to benefit from attendance.” [Education Code
Section 66201] State law affirms this commitment specifically with regard
to providing “...adequate resources to support enrollment growth...”
and that the annual state budget act contain appropriations necessary to
accommodate all California residents who are continuing undergraduate
students or eligible for admission as freshmen or sophomores or transfers
from community colleges. [Education Code Section 66202.5] Adjustments
to mandatory systemwide fees should be based on consideration of the
extent to which the state is meeting the above commitments.

e Consideration shall be given to whether a fee adjustment is necessary,
in combination with existing levels of state support, to assure adequate
resources to admit all California resident CSU-eligible undergraduate
applicants, and to provide all students with necessary courses, high-quality
programs and support services that lead to improved student success and
timely graduation.

e Adjustments to mandatory systemwide fees shall take into consideration
the level of state support the university receives, total costs of student
attendance, potential impacts on underrepresented and low to middle-
income students, as well as efforts to mitigate impacts. [Education Code
Section 66028.4 (a)]

e Consideration shall be given to the percentage of CSU baccalaureate
recipients who graduate with education loan debt, the average amount of
that loan debt, and how these measures compare with state and national
averages. Consideration also shall be given to the availability of financial
aid, including work-study, tax credits and institutional financial aid.
[Education Code Section 66028.2 (a)]

e Consideration shall be given to the extent to which fee rates and
institutional financial aid practices are maximizing the availability of
tederal financial aid, including tax credits, for CSU students and families.
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e Consideration shall be given to comparisons of fee rates, as well as net
costs of attendance, with other public higher education institutions in the
state and the nation.

e Consideration shall be given as to whether adjustments to the fee structure
would promote improvements in access to necessary courses, successful
course completion, improved time to degree and graduation rates.

¢ Consideration shall be given as to whether the fee structure maintains
adequate differentials between undergraduate and graduate/
postbaccalaureate fees, in recognition of longstanding Board of Trustees
policy, state priorities for access to baccalaureate education, typically higher
costs of graduate/postbaccalaureate programs and typically higher benefits
accruing to master’s and doctoral degree recipients.

o [f the state provides stable and predictable increases in funding,
consideration shall be given to fee increases that are moderate, gradual,
predictable and with ample notice to students.

e The Board of Trustees shall consider adjustments to mandatory
systemwide fees and amendments to principles governing consideration of
these fees only after appropriate consultation with the designated student
association has taken place, as required by state statute and CSU fee policy.
[Education Code Sections 66028.3 and 66028.4 (b)]

LEGISLATIVE ANALYST’'S OFFICE A-4



