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November 29, 2021 

Hon. Rob Bonta 
Attorney General 
1300 I Street, 17th Floor 
Sacramento, California 95814 

Attention: Ms. Anabel Renteria 
 Initiative Coordinator 

Dear Attorney General Bonta: 

Pursuant to Elections Code Section 9005, we have reviewed the proposed constitutional and 
statutory Tax Cut and Housing Affordability Act of 2022 initiative (A.G. File No. 21-0032, 
Amendment #1). 

Background  

Property Taxes and Income Tax Credits   
Local Governments Collect Property Taxes From Property Owners. California local 

governments—cities, counties, schools, and special districts—levy property taxes on property 
owners. Property taxes are paid based on the taxable value of the property. Property taxes are a major 
revenue source for local governments, raising about $75 billion per year statewide. 

How Is a Property Tax Bill Calculated? Each property owner’s annual property tax bill is equal 
to the taxable value of their property multiplied by their property tax rate. The typical property 
owner’s property tax rate is 1.1 percent. In the year a new owner takes over a property, its taxable 
value typically is its purchase price. Each year after that, the property’s taxable value is adjusted for 
inflation by up to 2 percent. When a property changes ownership again, its taxable value typically is 
reset to its new—usually higher—purchase price.  

Homeowners’ Exemption Reduces Taxable Value of Primary Homes. A state law, known as 
the homeowners’ exemption, reduces the taxable value of primary homes by $7,000. This typically 
reduces a homeowner’s tax payment by about $80 annually. The state reimburses local governments 
for their property tax losses from the homeowners’ exemption, which total around $400 million per 
year.  

Counties Manage the Property Tax. County assessors determine the taxable value of property. 
County tax collectors bill property owners and collect payments. County auditors distribute tax 
revenue to local governments. Statewide, counties spend about $800 million each year on these 
activities.  
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California Taxes Personal Income. The state collects a personal income tax on income earned 
within the state. The personal income tax raises over $120 billion each year. 

Renters Can Receive an Income Tax Credit. Low-income renters may claim the renters’ tax 
credit, which reduces how much income tax they owe. Single renters with incomes of less than about 
$43,500 can claim a renters’ credit of up to $60. Married couples and heads of households with 
incomes of less than about $87,000 can claim a credit of up to $120. The amount of the renters’ 
credit may not exceed how much tax someone owes. The renters’ credit reduces state income tax 
revenues by about $150 million annually. 

Local Land Use Authority and Housing Approval Process  
Local Land Use Responsibilities. California’s cities and counties make most decisions about 

when, where, and to what extent housing will be built. The state requires cities and counties to carry 
out certain planning exercises in an attempt to ensure they accommodate needed home building.  

Housing Developers Must Obtain City or County Approval. Before housing developers can 
build new housing, they generally must obtain one or more permits from city or county planning 
departments and, in many cases, must also obtain approval from local planning commissions and city 
councils or county boards of supervisors. 

Some Projects Permitted Via an Administrative Process. Some housing projects can be 
permitted by city or county planning staff without further approval from elected officials. These 
projects are typically referred to as “by right.” By-right projects require only an administrative 
review designed to ensure they are consistent with existing local laws and building standards.  

Additional Public Review Often Required. Most large housing projects and some other smaller 
projects are not allowed by right. Instead, these projects are vetted through both public hearings and 
administrative review. In addition, local planning commissions and, in some cases, elected city 
councils or county boards of supervisors must give their consent. This additional review typically 
makes it longer for those housing projects to be approved.  

Proposal  
Increases Homeowners’ Property Tax Exemption. The measure increases the homeowners’ 

exemption from $7,000 to $200,000. This would increase the reduction to a typical homeowner’s 
property tax payment from around $80 to roughly $2,200 per year. The measure would require the 
amount of the exemption to increase annually by 2 percent or the rate of inflation, whichever is 
lower.  

Increases Renters’ Income Tax Credit. The measure increases the renters’ tax credit to $1,000 
per year for single renters that earn $200,000 or less annually and $2,000 per year for married 
couples and heads of households that earn $400,000 or less annually. These amounts would be 
increased annually by 2 percent or the rate of inflation, whichever is lower.  

Establishes a Property Tax Surcharge. The measure establishes an annual property tax 
surcharge on most properties with a taxable value over $4 million. Properties with a taxable value 
over $5 million would be assessed a 1 percent surcharge, while the surcharge would be adjusted 
downward for properties with a taxable value between $4 million and $5 million. The measure 
exempts some high-value properties like land used for commercial agriculture and parks. 
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Provides Reimbursements to State and Local Governments. The measure says that the 
surcharge revenue can be used for only three purposes: (1) reimburse local governments for their 
property tax losses from the increase to the homeowners’ exemption, (2) reimburse the state for the 
income tax losses from the measure, and (3) reimburse the state and local governments for their costs 
of carrying out the measure. If the surcharge does not raise enough to cover these costs, it can be 
adjusted up to 1.2 percent. If that is not enough, the homeowners’ exemption and renters’ credit 
would be reduced so that the surcharge can cover the costs. Alternatively, if in the previous three 
years the surcharge revenue significantly exceeded the amount of revenue needed to cover costs, the 
measure requires the excess funds be refunded to qualified renters. The measure also allows the state 
to borrow for up to three years against the surcharge revenue to cover the cost of state and local 
reimbursements.  

Establishes Administrative Approval Process for Certain Housing Projects. The measure 
would require local governments to provide by-right approval of housing projects that abide by 
local requirements and that meet two conditions: (1) new housing projects that set aside at least 
half of the units for middle- and working-class households and (2) projects proposed on a site 
that the city or county has designated for regionally needed housing. While approval of housing 
projects that meet the criteria generally would be required without discretionary review or a 
public hearing, the measure would allow a local government to deny or require modifications of 
housing projects that create specific adverse impacts on public health or safety. The measure also 
establishes a review process for projects seeking by-right approval, including setting timeliness 
for local government review and allowing for appeals of project denials.  

Revenues Exempt From State Spending Limit and Minimum Education Funding Levels. The 
State Constitution contains various rules affecting the state budget. For example, the State 
Constitution specifies a state spending limit and requires a minimum level of annual funding for 
K-12 education and the California Community Colleges. This measure would amend the State 
Constitution to exempt the measure’s revenues and spending from these constitutional requirements.   

Fiscal Effects  
Increased Revenue Resulting From Property Tax Surcharge. Most owners of property with a 

taxable value of more than $4 million would pay higher property taxes due to the property tax 
surcharge. The tax rate would be set to collect enough money to cover the costs of the measure. This 
means the property tax surcharge probably would raise between $16 billion and $19 billion annually.   

Increased State and Local Government Costs. The measure sets aside the revenue derived from 
the property tax surcharge to reimburse the state and local governments for the various costs and 
revenue losses created by the measure:  

• Increased State Costs to Reimburse for Homeowners’ Exemption. By increasing the 
homeowners’ exemption, the measure would reduce local property tax revenues 
statewide by $12 billion to $14 billion annually. State costs to reimburse local 
governments for these losses would increase by the same amount. 

• State Revenues Losses From Renters’ Credit. Expanding the renters’ tax credit would 
reduce state income tax revenues, likely by about $4 billion annually. These revenue 
losses would be higher in years when the measure requires the state to pay additional tax 
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refunds to certain renters. The amount of these additional costs is unknown and would 
vary from year to year.   

• Increases County Administrative Costs. By requiring new and expanded responsibilities 
for county assessors and other county officials, the measure likely would result in costs of 
tens of millions of dollars annually. 

 Local Fiscal Effects Associated With By-Right Housing Approval Process. Local governments 
would incur minimal, one-time costs to establish the administrative housing project approval 
processes required by the measure. If the measure spurs additional housing development, local 
governments could experience some unknown level of economic growth. 

State Appropriations Limit Considerations. The State Constitution limits how much tax 
revenues the state can spend each year. However, certain types of spending, like some funding to 
local governments, are excluded from this limit. In recent years, the limit has been an important 
consideration in state budgeting decisions. Because this measure would require the state to provide 
local governments with more funding, depending on how it were implemented, this measure could 
increase the amount the state spends on excluded purposes by roughly $12 billion to $14 billion. As a 
result, it could significantly increase the amount of revenue the state spends on purposes excluded 
from the limit. Spending more on purposes excluded from the limit would reduce the chances the 
state spends revenues in excess of the limit. Revenues in excess of the limit, over a two-year period, 
trigger a requirement for taxpayer rebates and additional school payments.  

Summary of Fiscal Effects. We estimate that this measure would have the following major fiscal 
effects.  

• Increased property taxes on property with a taxable value of more than $4 million 
providing $16 billion to $19 billion in new revenue. 

• Increased state costs resulting from the increases to the homeowners’ property tax 
exemption and renters’ tax credit. Increased costs to local governments for carrying out 
the measure. Total costs would be $16 billion to $19 billion annually and likely would be 
fully offset by revenue from increased property taxes on higher value properties.                                                                                                                                                 

Sincerely, 
 
 
_____________________________ 
for Gabriel Petek 
Legislative Analyst 
 
 
 
_____________________________ 
for Keely Martin Bosler  
Director of Finance 
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